Meeting the Sidewalk Head On

An interesting thing happened to me on the day Tinker’s Tale was published.
I was climbing up to work on the cooler on the roof when the ladder collapsed, and I fell about ten feet down to the sidewalk. Almost instantly I had a bump the size of a softball on the back of my head.
Of course we went to the ER. They said I had a concussion.

When you have a concussion they ask you lots of questions. That’s where it got kind of strange. I knew the date, except for the year–I could not produce anything related to what year it was, and I had a real hard time interpreting what I could see on the clock. (On the other hand, Eleanor Roosevelt was the president-don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I guess when they ask ‘who’s the president?’ the ‘s stands for is, not was.) And my head really hurt.

It was a day I thought I would celebrate, and to be honest, I don’t remember most of it.

On the way home I noticed a bruise on my left shoulder–I must have hit that at the same time as my head. A day later I found a gouge about the size of my fingertip on my right ankle–I didn’t notice it, you’d think the blood would be a clue. A week later I found a broken tooth–it doesn’t hurt, but it does have a sharp edge.

I go out on my front porch and look at the place on the sidewalk where I landed and all I have is questions. Why, for example, when I hit the landing of the porch didn’t I keep going straight back? –which would have up-ended me over the railing and I would have landed on the top of my head on the driveway. When I diverted to the side with the stairs why didn’t I break an ankle, or even twist it? The list keeps growing.

A couple of weeks ago when I went up the ladder to finish the job I’d started that day. When I got to the place from where I’d fallen, and looked down at the sidewalk I had to ask the question:

Why aren’t I dead?

–or at least seriously injured?

I don’t know the answer. I was lucky, or blessed. The back of my head is still a little sore, btw, and there’s a bit of a bump. We’re tougher and more fragile than I can put into a few words.

I’m glad I’m still around. I guess I have a few adventures left.

About stephenb5jones

Husband of one. Fixer of things. School bus driver. Father of two. Writer. Missionary. Philosopher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meeting the Sidewalk Head On

  1. tmso says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m glad you are still around. And you are right about how tough we are, and fragile. If you ever get a chance, there’s a really cool non-fiction book about about survival, and darn it that I can’t find of the name or author…oh…I’ll be back!
    Anyway – glad you are recovering.

  2. Excellent job taking a horrible, frightening situation and turning it into a work to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

