Oh, and about writing…

This website is about an author, me, and a book I have published, Tinker’s Tale.  I know it should be obvious, but sometimes I must remind myself.

I’m still writing, and as usual I’m working with about eight projects (If you call them ‘projects’ it sounds so much more high level.) In the forefront, I’ve been collecting some of my fantasy short stories, some of them flash, and some of them started as flash and grew. I’ve been calling it “Elf Tales and Other Psychotic Events.”  I’ve also been adding a few stories to the mix, otherwise it would be a short collection of short stories about short people, and there is more than enough to explore.

The other project on the front burner is a SF novel I’ve named A Gift of Fire.  I’m aiming toward the Christian SF community with this one.  A religious colony on a new planet has fought wars over the scientists in their group adapting people to the harsh climate, but now a young woman of the servant caste discovers she has the ability to create fire…  It is so much more complicated than that.  Distilling a story down to a manageable blurb is not an easy thing, it takes a while to do it right.

And there are the works I’ve finished.  (Notice I’m not calling them stories–another part of the high level thing.)  A novel and a sequel,  the third story is one of my back burner projects, I have a lot of notes and two and a half pages written.  There are also a number of short stories and flash fiction waiting in the wings.  Some of those may yet see the light of day.

Speaking of which, I have an interesting story about a talking fish and a gullible fisherman waiting for a fun, interesting, exciting, clever, brilliant ending–and I don’t know what it is yet.

More later.

B5

About stephenb5jones

Husband of one. Fixer of things. Father of two. Writer. Missionary. Philosopher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, and about writing…

  1. tmso says:

    Sounds like fun. Looking forward to whatever you come up with. Will you self-pub them?

    (FYI – still having gotten to Tinker’s Tale, though I have it on my iPhone waiting for me. 🙂 )

  2. Hey – Good to see you’re plugging away. I have a major rewrite coming and lots of work w/ that. If I knew writing would be so much rewriting… again :).

    Anyway, keep at it. I got your book and as soon as I get my e-reader going, I’m looking forward to diving into the work (and I didn’t say story, I called it a work – I can be taught!)

  3. I’ll only self pub if I have to. It’s nice to have someone who knows what they’re doing in charge of promotion etc. “Someone who knows what they’re doing” being -not me.

    Although I am learning.

Leave a Reply

